Eddy Awards


The Eddys 2017

2017 Honorees

Outstanding Teachers Teachers that inspire, challenge and support students

  • Kindergarten – 3rd Grade: Tina McGlashan, Westlake Elementary School; and Merry Iggulden, Bayview Elementary School
  • 4-5th grade: Daniel Bickman, Gault Elementary School
  • 6-8th Grade: Laura Lorber, Mission Hill Middle School, Branciforte Middle School and Santa Cruz High School
  • 9-12 Grade: Casey Carlson, Soquel High School

Roseann Coonerty Layne Inspiring Teacher Award

Honors a 7-12 English, History, Social Studies or Civics/Government teacher who ignites a passion for learning.

  • Nancy MIgdall, English teacher, Santa Cruz High School

Unsung Heroes

Unrecognized hard working staff and parents that make a difference every day

  • Classified: Adrianna Barrientos, Translator/Interpreter, District Office
  • Community Members: Measure A and B Committee

Green Award

Honors those who educate about and emulate our green policies

  • Natasha Flechsig, Branciforte Middle School

Wellness Award

Recognizes those who promote wellness in mind, spirit and body

  • Branciforte Small Schools and Principal Steven Hambright/Badri Dass

Innovation Award

Recognizes innovation in service of our students

  • Jody Lust, writing teacher, Gault Elementary Schools

Community Supporters of the Year

Acknowledges the tremendous gift of community support for our schools


School of the Year

Recognizes the outstanding results of a collaborative community in service of students

  • Soquel High School and Principal Gail Atlanski

Special Foundation Awards

Recognizes exemplary teachers, volunteers and programs

  • Matt Schutz, Chemistry teacher, Harbor High School
  • Mark Mathew, Volunteer, Santa Cruz County Office of Education
  • Dos Alas, Dual Immersion Program, DeLaveaga Elementary School